ASTRON is the Netherlands Institute for Radio Astronomy. The ASTRON Institute Advisory Board oversees the major decisions associated with the strategic programme of the Foundation. Current Board members are:

  • J.J. (Jozias) van Aartsen (chair)
  • J.A.M. (Johan) Bleeker (Utrecht University)
  • P. (Peter) Zijlema (IBM Benelux)
  • Prof.dr. I.F.A. (Iris) Vis (University of Groningen)
  • A.B. (Bart) Smolders (Eindhoven University of Technology)
  • Prof.dr. K.H. (Koen) Kuijken (Leiden University)
  • Prof.dr. J.M. (Thijs) van der Hulst (University of Groningen)
  • A.G. (Alfred) Welink (VNO-NCW Noord)
  • Drs. W.J. (Wim) Kuijken

Executive authority at ASTRON is vested in the General Director, Prof. Carole Jackson.

The General Director is advised by an international Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC).

Science Advisory Committee

The director of ASTRON is advised by the Science Advisory Committee (SAC) on all aspects of the institute's programme.

The SAC meets at least once a year and consists of:

  • Dr. Sean (S.M.) Dougherty (chair), ALMA, Chile
  • Prof. Tom (T.M.) Heskes, Radboud University Nijmegen, NL
  • Dr. Daniela (D.) Huppenkothen, University of Washington, USA
  • Prof. dr. Leon (L.V.E.) Koopmans, Groningen University, NL
  • Prof. Robert (R.A.) Laing, SKA Organisation, UK
  • Dr. Tiziana (T.) Venturi, INAF, Italy

ASTRON operates under the umbrella of the Dutch national research council: the Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research, NWO, which formally also employs all its staff.

Design: Kuenst.    Development: Dripl.    © 2022 ASTRON